Sweating for the wedding

I have a confession to make. I haven’t been to the gym. I haven’t been to the gym in a really long time! And the totally daft thing about it is that I actually enjoy exercising. I’ve run 3 marathons, 4 half marathons and lots of 5 and 10ks, but because I’m not training for an event at the moment I seem to have let working out disappear from my routine and life.

london-marathon

3rd London Marathon complete and a PB!

This morning I read a post by Franny over on Frilly Pretty Things about getting fit, and I’ve got to say she’s inspired me to dust off my trainers and get my butt into the gym.

As you all know (and if you don’t where have you been?!) I’m getting married in March next year. And I want to look my absolute best on my wedding day and for my honeymoon a few days later. I’d like to be able to wear a pair of short shorts and not feel too self conscious about my legs and I’d really love that wobbly bit on the back of my arm to be a bit less wobbly!

For me weight isn’t really a great indicator of how I feel or how healthy I am. For me a better measure is if my jeans feel a little snug and if I’m out of breath by the time I get to the top of the escalator.

So I’m heading back to the gym for the first time in ages. And the plan is to go 3 times a week. My aim is that by the time I get married I’ll feel a bit more toned, a bit less wobbly and generally a little bit fitter.

It’s also probably a good time to introduce you to my new toy. Yes I caved and purchased a Nutribullet, but I have to say I love it! So far I’ve used it for juices and a soup and I love them! Today for example I’m heading to work with a small nutriblast containing kale, melon, raspberries, coconut water and flax seeds. I’ll still have a small serving of cereal for breakfast (as I feel hard done by if I don’t eat some solid food) but it’s a great way for me to pack some vegetables and nutrients into my day early on. Never before have I guzzled kale either in a drink or for breakfast but I have to say I’m sold on these super delicious drinks.

nutri-bullet

My lovely new toy

So there we go, my challenge for the next 223 days is to get fit and toned for the wedding. I’ll continue to eat well (I actually love cooking) but I’ll be committing to actually using my gym membership too. I should also probably try to stop the cup of tea and chocolate biscuit before it becomes a habit.

Is anyone else on a bit of a health kick for their wedding or a special event? Or maybe you’ve just decided it’s time to dust off your gym kit. Do you have any great workouts I should try or top tips for staying motivated? Please share your secrets!

Have a great week everyone,

Dawn

2 thoughts on “Sweating for the wedding

I'd love to hear what you think...

