Something old, something new – I’m stuck and don’t know what to do!

Image courtesy of nuttakit via freedigitalphotos.net

Image courtesy of nuttakit via freedigitalphotos.net

I’m stuck and I need some help. I’ve been thinking through my wedding to-do list and I’ve hit a bit of a stumbling block. Old, new, borrowed and blue are all things that I want to feature in my wedding – but I don’t know where to start.

Ok that’s a bit of a lie actually, I’ll start with the easy one that I have managed to tick off, Something New. I’ve got a lovely new dress that’ll be arriving in the shop in December so I think I’m covered with that one. But that’s where I become a little bit stuck.

I’m guessing that Something Old and Borrowed could be the same thing. Perhaps I’ll have to raid my mum’s jewellery box and see if there’s anything in there to snaffle. The thing is I didn’t see myself wearing lots of jewellery on my wedding day and I definitely don’t want anything too big so I’ll have to see what dainty pieces she’s kept from years ago.

Then there’s the Something Blue. I’ve thought of various ideas, shoes, stones in jewellery, a garter. But none of them feel quite right for me. Our colours are mint green and blush pink so adding blue into the mix in a significant way doesn’t feel quite right. And I know it could be hidden away with a garter but my two issues are 1) I’m not sure if I want to wear one and 2) if I do I’ve seen a gorgeous ivory and mint green one that I’ve fallen in love with.

So there’s my slight dilemma, and one that I’m hoping someone might have some suggestions for. Have I missed something really obvious that would make incorporating this tradition into my wedding easy? I’ve still got 159 days until I do so that’s plenty of time to get it right and not at panic stage critical yet. I just like to be organised and this is one thing that I honestly don’t seem to have the answer to.

What did you do (or are planning to do) for your something old, new, borrowed and blue? Or maybe you’ve decided to buck tradition and not worry at all – I’d love to know!

Thanks for all the likes over the last few posts, if you’re enjoying March To The Aisle then subscribe to the right to get an email whenever a shiny new post appears on the blog.

Laters lovelies,
Dawn

PS. If anyone can work out how to make a silver sixpence stay in a strappy shoe I’d love to know the answer to that too!

I'd love to hear what you think...